Eijkman Oxford Clinical Research Unit (EOCRU)

EOCRU was established in 2008 by a memorandum of understanding between the Eijkman Institute for Molecular Biology (EIMB) and the University of Oxford, as an embedded unit of the EIMB.  These institutions now collaborate in clinical, laboratory, and field research on infectious diseases of public health importance in Indonesia. EOCRU is directed by Prof J. Kevin Baird and comprises three research groups and five supporting service groups.

The Eijkman-Oxford Clinical Research Unit (EOCRU), with its Indonesian hosts and partners, aims to collaboratively develop and pursue a research agenda of relevance to Indonesian healthcare providers and their patients. We are especially committed to infectious diseases that impose burdens of preventable or treatable morbidity and mortality in Southeast Asia, including tuberculosis, malaria, and other emerging and neglected infections. EOCRU’s vision is to compose an important and highly active centre of biomedical research excellence, with our hosts and partners, focusing on opportunities to improve the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of these endemic infections by conducting robust randomized clinical trials that may directly impact practice and improve the health outcomes in Indonesia and the region.

Field-base team

Unit structure

Head Unit : Prof. J. Kevin Baird

Research Group:

  1. Malaria Program (Prof. J. Kevin Baird)
  2. Spatial Epidemiology Program  (Iqbal RF Elyazar)
  3. Clinical Epidemiology (Anuraj Shankar)
  4. Clinical infectious Disease Program 
Research Operation:
  1. Finance and Admin
  2. Laboratory Support
  3. Clinical Medicine
  5. Statistics and Data Management
  6. Regulatory and Governance
  7. Logistic and IT
  8. Public Engagement Officer



  1. Case Report: A Case of Primaquine-Induced Hemoglobinuria in Glucose-6-Phosphate Dehydrogenase-Deficient Malaria Patient in Southeastern Bangladesh.
    Am J Trop Med Hyg. 2019 Nov 4. doi: 10.4269/ajtmh.19-0643.