July 2, 2018

Eijkman Institute's Scientists completed their WIPO-BVGH-funded Sabbatical Fellowships

Two scientists from Eijkman Institute, Dr. Rintis Noviyanti and Dr. Tedjo Sasmono, have recently completed their sabbatical fellowships at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute (WEHI), Melbourne, Australia. Both scientists utilized the awards, funded by World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) and BioVentures for Global Health (BVGH), to conduct advanced research on Malaria and Dengue.

Dr. Noviyanti's research focuses on identifying candidate targets for naturally acquired immunity for the design of novel antimalarial vaccines. The project was performed in collaboration with Prof. Alan Cowman, Dr. Diana Hansen, and Dr. Wai-Hong Tham at the WEHI.

Also conducted at WEHI, Dr. Sasmono's sabbatical fellowship focuses in identifying immunological biomarkers responsible for the severity of dengue disease. This was done in collaboration with Dr. Diana Hansen and Prof. Alan Cowman.

Drs Diana Hansen, Rintis Noviyanti, and Tedjo Sasmono during WIPO-BVGH colloquium

Both scientists presented their achievement and experiences in BVGH colloquium and session as part of the First Malaria World Congress held in Melbourne, 1-5 July 2018.

The sabbatical fellowships provide mutually beneficial partnerships among scientists and strengthen long-term collaboration between institutions.

Fellows, host scientists, and sponsors (WIPO, BVGH, Australian Government representatives) taken a group photo during the colloquium.

About Eijkman Institute

Eijkman Institute is a renewed, non-profit, government funded research institute under the auspices of the Ministry of Research, Technology and Higher Education (RISTEKDIKTI), Indonesia.The institute has a main mission of advancing the progress of basic and applied research related to molecular biology in Indonesia, with focuses in biomedicine, biodiversity, biotechnology and biosecurity, as well as translating the findings of the research for the benefits of Indonesian community.

Contact us

Benediktus Yohan

Public Relation and Cooperation
Eijkman Institute for Molecular Biology
Jl. Diponegoro 69 Jakarta 10430 Indonesia
Tel.: +62 21 3917131
Fax.: +62 21 3147982
Facebook fan page: @eijkmaninstitute
Instagram: @eijkmaninstitute
Twitter: @eijkman_inst